jump to navigation

What’s In A Name? How Should I Name My Business? August 28, 2009

Posted by Julie Duriga, CPA in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

j0438994In my research for the book Confessions of Entrepreneurs, (I decided that I would include stories of many, many entrepreneurs, rather than just my story.  What do you think?)  Don’t  you think it will be more interesting to have many entrepreneurs telling of the mistakes that they made in their business rather than just one (me) person confessing the errors of their ways?

As a CPA, I had only one choice to name my business, Julie Duriga, CPA.  That was my choice.  We were going to call it Duriga Accountants but my state board told me that was not possible.   

I was surprised to learn that one of the first mistakes that some small business owners make is the way they name their business.  They give their businesses names that are meaningful to them or a name that is meaningful  in their family or a name they think it is really cool.  Some small business owners give their business a name that is sophisticated and sometimes give their business a Latin name.  Which sounds fun but in fact you spend useful, valuable time explaining what the name means rather than how you bring value to other people’s lives. 

I ran into a friend at the YMCA the other day and she told me that her and her husband had an organic landscaping company called Terrat Systems.  I asked her if she did Terraces after asking her to repeat this several times and she sighed heavily and explained that the name was just Latin.  Quite honestly I am not entirely sure that I am spelling Terrat correctly, I tried to Google it but nothing comes up that is relevant.  They currently live in Asheville and have a nursery, I asked her what the name of their new business was and she proudly declared that it was called, “Carolina Native Nursery.”  It says it all, doesn’t it?  We can move on to more important aspects of her business rather than asking to repeat the name and asking her what it means….

Give your business an un-sexy, easy to understand business name that people can easily identify what  value you bring to the world.   You will save a great deal of time and you will be able to move on to talking about the more interesting things about your business right away.  You only have a few minutes to make a good impression…spend those few minutes impressing your audience with your product or service!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

